University of Peradeniya
Faculty of Medicine

The Faculty of Medicine is one of the nine faculties in the University of Peradeniya and situates itself at the entrance of the Galaha road leading to many other faculties of the University of Peradeniya.

The faculty of Medicine was established in 1962 as the second medical school in the country with the demand for medical education from the Ministry of Health. First, it existed and ran as an addition to the faculty of Colombo. In 1967 the faculty became independent with their own new elected dean. The founder dean of the faculty is prof. Senaka Bibile who is largely responsible for the growth and development of the faculty. Since his time the faculty was subsequently managed by an administrative team. It was him who established the Medical Education Unit in the faculty which was recognized as a teacher training centre for health professionals in the South East Asian Region by the World Health Organization. It was in Prof. Senaka Bibile’s time that the initiative for the plans for the building of the teaching hospital was taken and was completed in 1980. Between the years 1970 to 1980 an umbrella organization was formed with the Dental and Veterinary schools of the University of Peradeniya called the Faculty of Medical, Dental and Veterinary sciences. By 1986 these schools became self-governing. The Teaching hospital Peradeniya was built and commissioned during 1972- 1981. The new Preclinical building was built and commissioned in during the years 2000-2004. And a new Paraclinical building is yet to be completed.

The Faculty contains 16 departments: Anesthesiology & Critical Care, Anatomy, Biochemistry, Community Medicine, Forensic Medicine, Obstetrics and Gynecology, Paediatrics, Parasitology, Pathology, Pharmacology, Physiology, Psychiatry, Radiology and Surgery) and many other units and centres (Centre for Research in Tropical Medicine, Centre for Education, Research & Training on Kidney Diseases, eLibrary, Health Emergency & Disaster Management Training Centre, Medical Education Unit, Nuclear Medicine Unit, Research and Development Unit, Skills Lab and Technical Resource Centre.)

Approximately a thousand students containing six batches are receiving training at the Faculty of Medicine. The students receive their clinical training at the Peradeniya Teaching Hospital, Kandy Teaching Hospital, Kegalle and Gampola Teaching Hospitals, Base Hospital Mawanella, and STD Clinic District Hospital Katugastota.

The faculty operates a rural field practice area known as “Hindagala Community Health Project” covering 62 square kilometers and with a population of 20,000. It is administered and provided by the Department of Community Medicine together with the government Department of health Services. It assists as a ‘field laboratory’ to the students for practical training and research.


  • Website-Faculty of Medicine